≡ Menu

Ken Wright Memorial Road Race

The 2020 edition of our Ken Wright Memorial Road Race was due to be held on Sunday 3 May was cancelled because of the Coronavirus pandemic. The event was for 2,3 & 4 category riders and was due to cover 120km on a circuit south of Colchester..

On Sunday 9th 2019 June Colchester-based VC Revolution Cycling Club hosted their annual Ken Wright Memorial Road Race on an 11-mile circuit south of Colchester, which saw a strong field of 80 riders sprint for victory at the end of a fast 70-mile race.

The annual event has grown in stature in recent years and attracts riders from across the region. This year riders had to complete 6.5 gruelling laps of a circuit based around the Abberton Reservoir, passing through the villages of Peldon, Abberton and Layer de la Haye.

After a blustery Saturday, the 80-rider peloton was greeted on Sunday morning by lovely sunny weather and light wind. Taking this and history into account, the race was odds on to be fast with a breakaway victory unlikely.

Following a series of unsuccessful attempts by riders to split the peloton in the early stages of the race, a strong breakaway group of three riders formed after 4 laps. Working well together they quickly established a gap of 45 seconds over the peloton. Towards the closing stages of the race it still looked like the winner would come from the breakaway, although with just one lap to go a more organised peloton crossed the line just 25 seconds behind.

However, within sight of the finish line it was heartbreak for the breakaway as the galloping peloton caught them with just 300 meters left to race. A strong final kick from Jacob Chambers (Essex Roads CC) saw him cross the line first, closely followed by Seb Herrod (Strada Sport) and Craig Nicholls (API) to complete the podium.

Full results are listed below:

Ken Wright Memorial Road Race Result 9th June 2019
1 11 Jacob Chambers Essex Roads CC
2 28 Seb Herrod Strada-Sport
3 81 Craig Nicholls API-Metrow/Bodyby JR
4 72 Wayne Tunnah Beds Road Race Team
5 30 Dale Johnston Velo Schils – Interbike RT
6 78 Oliver Wood Strada-Sport
7 51 Neil Pearson Gemini BC
8 45 George Olive Finchley Racing Team
9 15 Chris Crabtree Orwell Velo
10 58 Tom Rowson Velo Schils – Interbike RT
11 19 James Dent Team PB Performance
12 41 Toby Miles Finchley Racing Team
13 13 Jacob Clapp Jam Cycling RT coached by BPC
14 57 Jonas Rooze Team LDN
15 36 Daryl Maffey CC London
16 9 Nicholas Candy North Road CC
17 84 Robin Mould Foran CCC
18 31 Charles Jones DAP Cycling Club
19 60 Ryan Savage Crest Cycling Club
20 52 Colin Peck Chelmer CC
21 5 Sam Baxter DAP Cycling Club
22 48 John Parkin CC London
23 76 Matthew Watts Strada-Sport
24 29 Toby Hunt Verulam – reallymoving.com
25 18 Matthew Day Orwell Velo
26 67 Tom Stokes Team PB Performance
27 65 Martin Smith London Phoenix CC
28 10 Matthew Carter Velo Schils – Interbike RT
29 53 Jeremy Perks Rapha Cycling Club
30 7 Benjamin Beynon Strada-Sport
31 54 Ian Perry Velo Schils – Interbike RT
32 6 Lubomir Belak St Ives CC
33 47 Leighton Oxley-Crisp Velo Schils – Interbike RT
34 17 Cai Davies Finchley Racing Team
35 83 James Moss NUNN -SIGMA
36 42 Paul Miller Maldon & District CC
37 23 Liam Fenner API-Metrow/Bodyby JR
38 68 Callan Swanson Pro Cycle Hire UK Racing Team
39 85 Tom Yiangou UEACC
40 26 Elliot Fullerton Bloodwise QSW
41 12 Timothy Chilvers Maldon & District CC
42 38 Stewart McMahon Gemini BC
43 59 Charles Salt Islington Cycling Club
44 4 Thomas Battrum Rapha Cycling Club
45 39 Stephen Messenger East London Velo
46 20 Andrew Diplock Cambridge CC
47 27 Joseph Halloran Cambridge CC
48 34 Bjorn Krylander Cambridge CC
49 3 Thomas Barningham ViCiOUS VELO
50 2 Mark Barningham ViCiOUS VELO
51 66 Mike Smith Rapha Cycling Club
52 64 James Sherwood Orwell Velo
53 73 David Veitch Lea Valley CC
54 71 Jake Towler Strada-Sport
55 37 Paul McGrath GPN builders-Rock and Road Bike
56 35 Joshua Lawless Elitecycling
57 32 Alfie Kennard Cambridge CC
58 1 Joshua Aiken Pedal Power Cycles Ipswich
59 40 Ian Middleton Foran CCC
60 70 Christopher Thomas East London Velo
61 82 Wayne Crombie ELV
62 79 Andrew Hastings
63 25 Ian Franklin Pro Cycle Hire UK Racing Team
64 63 Jamil Shehadeh Colchester Rovers CC
65 16 Tony Cuddy Gemini BC
66 22 Neil Edwards
67 44 James Newton CC Sudbury
68 49 Toby Parnell Pro Cycle Hire UK Racing Team
69 21 William Drury Pro Cycle Hire UK Racing Team

2019 Podium. Photo Credits Alan Groves.

Congratulations to Jacob Chambers (Essex Roads CC) for winning the 2019 edition, along with Seb Herrod (Strada Sport) and Craig Nicholls (API) who finished second and third from a very fast bunch sprint. We would also like to say a very big thank you to everyone involved in the promotion of this race.

The programme with a list of riders can be found here: 2019 Ken Wright Memorial Programme.


Ken Wright 1948-2004

The members of VC Revolution decided to name our ERRL road race promotions in memory of our friend and fellow cyclist Ken Wright.

Ken started cycling after joining the West Suffolk Wheelers in Bury St Edmunds in 1964. This was the start of a lifelong love of cycling and Ken became one of their star riders, breaking many time-trialling records. In 1969 Ken joined the newly-formed Velo Club Anglia Sport, which took road racing as the main discipline and it was this form of cycling which Ken enjoyed. In 1972 Ken returned to the West Suffolk Wheelers and continued to enjoy more success in time-trialling and road racing.

In 1974 Ken and wife Pam emigrated to South Africa where a whole new world of cycling opened up to Ken – track racing. This was the predominant part of cycling in South Africa and an aspect of the sport where Ken excelled with his attendance at meetings in Johannesburg and Pretoria.

The family returned to the UK in 1979 and Ken joined Ratae RC in Leicester – once again enjoying track racing. When Ken moved to Colchester he joined Colchester Rovers and then the reformed Angliasport, again enjoying road racing, time trialling and track racing.

Ken enjoyed a lifetime of cycling, both as a competitor and spectator and was a real club-man, always willing to promote events and coach youngsters, with former World Pursuit Champion Colin Sturgess being an early student and Ken’s son David progressing to be a very good rider.

On behalf of Pam Wright, David Wright and Louise Hodgson we are proud to present the Ken Wright Memorial RR; a great testament to a gent who was a true cyclist.